Roasted Red Pepper and Butternut Squash Hummus

on

There used to be a time that I could tolerate just about anything I put into my stomach. Once I hit my 30’s, though, all that changed. Suddenly everything was making me sick. Every. Thing. My body was falling apart. Come to find out, it was just the corn that is hiding in everything that was not agreeing with me. For those who are not familiar with corn derivatives, here is a corn allergen list of all that I now have to avoid. As you can probably imagine, life became tricky as I had to learn to navigate through the land of food tainted with corn derivatives while trying to allow my body to heal. It was quite the process, but I am happy to report that I have finally gotten it under control. Well, for the most part. There is always something that sneaks up and smacks me down.

For instance, when I tried to make this same recipe using a can of organic garbanzo beans. Holy gas and indigestion. It was simultaneously funny, and not so much. Thank goodness my husband was working out of town. For real. I know that legumes in general can have this effect on the body, but never in my life had I experienced it on that level. Was it the beans? Or, was it possible cross contamination? Who knows! (Yeah… I’m pretty sure it was cross contamination) But, upon looking around on the interwebs for a solution for an alternative to one of my favorite snacks, I ran across several suggestions to use roasted butternut squash instead of garbanzo beans. Genius! So, in true form, I totally ignored all of the recipes, and just ran with my own favorite hummus combination using roasted red peppers.

 

img_2459
Don’t these look delightful?

This recipe is great, not only because my poor stomach can handle it better than those pesky legumes, but also because it is low carb and paleo friendly. I could seriously eat this everyday.

img_2462

Ingredients

  • 1 small to medium sized butternut squash, roasted or steamed
  • 2 red peppers, roasted, skin removed
  • 2-4 Tbsp tahini (depending on how big that squash is)
  • 1-2 Tbsp organic lemon juice
  • 1/2 tsp Himalayan salt (more can be added to taste)
  • 1/4 tsp organic roasted garlic powder
  • 1/4 tsp organic onion powder
  • 1/4 tsp organic turmeric (great for anti-inflammatory purposes)
  • 1/2 tsp organic paprika
  • dash of cayenne if you like heat
  • 1 Tbsp organic olive oil (Jovial brand and California Olive Ranch tend to be well tolerated)
  • about 1/4 cup water as needed*

Directions

Combine all ingredients except for water in a food processor. As everything becomes well incorporated, slowly add a bit of a water at a time until desired consistency is reached.

*Butternut squash is a bit softer than garbanzo beans, so be careful not to add to much liquid.

Top with a sprinkling of paprika and olive oil if desired, and enjoy with your favorite dipping vehicle. I love to use plantain chips that I find at BJ’s. img_1409

 

Leave a Reply

