Roasted Red Pepper and Butternut Squash Soup | Gluten, Corn, and Dairy free

I roasted a butternut squash two days ago, and then I was too lazy to do anything with it. I had good intentions… Follow through was terrible. That happens sometimes. Meh.

Good thing it was still fresh this afternoon, because I finally got the will to do something with it. I was inspired by one of my old local favorite restaurants back  in Jacksonville, Fl, called Biscotti’s. They have this amazing roasted red pepper and sweet potato soup that I would order every time I went there. Now I live in central New York, but even if I were back in FL, I still wouldn’t be able to have it, due to my new found corn allergy. Thank goodness I figured out how to make something similar!


The original soup is made with sweet potatoes, but I figured butternut squash would be just as good, and I already had one roasted and ready to go. I was right, it is just as good!

Ingredients:

  • 1/4 large Vidalia onion, chopped
  • 1 clove garlic, minced
  • 1 Tbsp avocado oil
  • One roasted red pepper, chopped
  • Medium butternut squash, roasted
  • 2 cups vegetable broth (corn safe, gluten free)
  • 1/2 tsp sea salt
  • Dash of turmeric

Directions:

  1. Heat oil over medium heat, sautée onion and garlic until soft.
  2. Add the roasted red pepper and about 1/2 cup of the vegetable broth. Bring to a boil and allow to simmer for a couple of minutes.
  3. Add the scooped out butternut squash. Purèe all of the ingredients together using a stick blender, or carefully pour it into a food processor. While blending, slowly add the broth bit by bit, until the soup reaches a smooth consistency.
  4. Garnish with a strip of roasted red pepper and a sprinkling of chives. Enjoy!


I was so happy to find this brand of roasted red peppers that was safe for me! It’s the small things. 😉

7 Comments Add yours

  1. marilynroc says:

    That looks so good! I happen to have all of those ingredients right now! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Ginny says:

      Do it! It is so good!😊 (and thank you!)

      Liked by 1 person

  2. pinkiebag says:

    This looks delicious s great comforting soup in the winter. I have all the ingredients and will give it a try. Thank you.
    http://pinkiebag.com/

    Like

    1. Ginny says:

      Thank you for the lovely compliment! This soup is absolutely comforting on this cold winters day. I just had the leftovers for lunch again!

      Like

  3. This looks tempting and the color is so gorgeous.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Ginny says:

      Such a sweet comment! Thank you for making my day! ❤️

      Like

Leave a Reply

