Piecrust | Gluten-free, Corn-free

Pie. I love pie. Other than cookies, it is my very most favorite of the desserts. When I found out that I am gluten and corn intolerant, I thought for sure that I would never be able to have a decent pie again, ever in the rest of my existence. Can you imagine how terribly sad that made me? But, I was wrong! I figured out how to make a fantastic pie crust – tastes like the real deal, and looks fabulous to boot. Now, I can have pie any time I please, as long as I am not being lazy about it. Ha!

In order to make this recipe, you will have to make a batch of my all-purpose flour blend which you will find here.

PieCrust1

Corn Free Contessa’s Piecrust

Makes enough for 2 9 inch pies

Ingredients:

Directions:

Whisk together the flour blend and salt. Using either your hands or a pastry blender, cut the cold butter into the flour mixture until it resembles fine crumbles.

In a separate bowl, combine the egg, water, and vinegar. Create a well in the middle of your flour mixture, then pour the egg mixture in. Mix well by hand.

Form the dough into a ball, cut in half, then cover each dough ball with plastic wrap. Refrigerate for 30 minutes to make the dough easier to work with when preparing for the pie plates.

Roll each piece of dough between 2 sheets of plastic wrap. I find it is better to use two overlapping sheets of plastic wrap for both the bottom and the top, otherwise the dough will squish out and stick to your table. While rolling the dough flat, remember that you are aiming to fill a 9 inch pie plate.

Remove the top layer of plastic wrap, and use the bottom layer to help you flip the dough over onto the pie plate before removing it. Using your fingers, dock the dough around the top edge of the pie plate, and make it as pretty or as plain as you would like.

You can use the prepared dough in any pie recipe, following the directions for baking each pie. If you plan to make a cold filling, such as a custard or pudding pie, pre-bake the crusts at 350 F for 15 minutes. Allow the crusts to cool completely before filling.

If you do not need to use the second piece of pie dough, you can prep it into a pie plate and freeze it for up to 1 month.

MaplePecanPie
Corn-free Maple Pecan Pie

 

One Comment Add yours

Leave a Reply

