Maple Pecan Pie | Gluten-free, Corn-free

Pecan pie has always been one of my absolute favorites. In the world of pies, pecan pie is the epitome of the southern pie creations, and although I have relocated to the north, I like to stick to my southern roots as often as I possibly can.

If you know anything about pecan pie, you will know that it is usually always made with corn syrup. I’m sure you can imagine my dismay when I learned of my intolerance… I thought that I would never get to taste the sweet wonderment of pecan pie ever again. But, with this delightful recipe that replaces the corn syrup with maple syrup, I can. And it is even better than I have ever had before!

Ingredients:

Suggestions in parentheses are for those who are corn intolerant
  • 1 piecrust (pre-made)
  • 1 1/2 cups pecan halves/pieces
  • 3 large eggs (pasture raised)
  • 1/2 cup Domino light brown sugar
  • 1/2 cup coconut palm sugar
  • 3/4 cup pure maple syrup
  • 1/2 teaspoon finely ground sea salt
  • 1/2 stick melted butter (grass-fed)
  • 2 teaspoons vanilla extract (corn safe –  homemade is best)

Preheat oven to 350 F.

Arrange pecan pieces on a baking sheet in a single layer and toast in preheated oven for about 8 minutes.

In a medium to large mixing bowl, whisk the eggs, then add the remaining ingredients. Mix well.

Place the pecan pieces in the bottom of your prepared piecrust, then poor the custard mixture over the top. The pecans will naturally float to the top.

Bake for 20 minutes, cover with aluminum foil to protect the pie crust from browning, then bake an additional 35 minutes.

Allow to cool before serving. Enjoy!

Leave a Reply

