Corn-Free Contessa’s All-Purpose Flour Blend – Gluten-free | Corn-free

There are lots of gluten-free all-purpose flour blends to be found out there, but there is one universal problem that I run into with every single one of them – they still have some sort of corn derivative in them, making them completely useless to me and my family. The usual culprits are corn starch and xanthan gum. So, I set out to remedy this and make my own blend in bulk amounts, because I am ever so tired of every time I want to make something I find myself doing lots of math to create the exact amount of an all-purpose blend for each recipe. Don’t get me wrong, I am happy to finally put my math skills to work, but I don’t want to if I don’t have to!

After much trial and error to find the perfect blend that seems to work perfectly for each of my recipes, I have finally cracked the code. And let me tell you, I couldn’t be more thrilled with the results! Now I am happy to share my results with you, so you can continue on with your gluten-free, corn-free baking without all the hassle.

Here is what you need to make about 8 cups of Corn-Free Contessa’s All-Purpose Blend:

  • 3 cups white rice flour
  • 2 cups brown rice flour (finely ground)
  • 2 cups tapioca flour/starch OR arrowroot starch
  • 1 cup buckwheat flour
  • 4 tsp guar gum OR locust bean gum

Directions:

Blend all ingredients well with a whisk and store in an air-tight container. This blend is a great substitute for any and all recipes that call for flour! If you are making breads you will need to add an additional 1/2 tsp. of guar/locust bean gum for each cup of flour used.

 

I would love to hear from you! Please share your baking stories and pictures of finished baked goods using Corn-Free Contessa’s All-Purpose Blend, and you can be featured on this blog! Happy baking!

Disclaimer: I tend to be a little more on the “corn-lite” end of the corn intolerance spectrum. I realize that lots of others are extremely sensitive and claim that rice does not work well for them, due to cross-contamination. I am not sure if this also encompasses rice flours, but I urge you to use caution and stay away from brands that you know do not fair well for you – such as Bob’s Red Mill, NOW foods, etc. I can not use these brands myself. I have found that finding rice flours in asian markets work well – I have not had an issue with cross contamination with brands I have found there. Also Authentic Foods brand brown rice flour works for me. Usually, as long as the manufacturer only manufactures rice, and no other grains, you should be in the clear. Only you will know what works for you, and I urge you, as always, to exercise caution when trial-ing flour brands.

*patent pending

2 Comments Add yours

Leave a Reply

