My Bucket Overfloweth

on

Hey there. If you don’t already know, I am corn intolerant. Yeah, it’s a hoot, lemme tell ya. Corn is in everything. I mean, everything. So avoiding it is not so fun!  Sometimes it feels like it is impossible… but I do have good days.

Unfortunately, I have a lot of bad days. Luckily, as more time passes, the duration of my reactions seems to lessen, which is fantastic. When I first cut corn out of my system, I went through a detox phase that seemed to have lasted about a month. In which I was constantly slipping up because I didn’t know what all corn was actually in….Then, when I finally got it out of my system, one little screw-up would send me into a full 7 days of pain, brain fog, twitching, nausea, light headedness, and a slew of other crazy symptoms. Now I seem to be down to 1-2 days when my “bucket overflows”. That is fantastic, I can do a couple of days.

What does this “bucket overflowing” business mean? Well, think of it like this. When I detoxed corn out of my system, day by day my bucket became a little lighter, until it was empty (or darn close). Each accidental ingestion of corn adds to my bucket. The reactions are much smaller when my bucket isn’t full – these can include headaches, burning sensation in mouth, slight twitching, brain fog, joint pain, and multiple bathroom trips. Depending on what it is, and how much I ingest, is how much gets poured into my bucket. The more corn I ingest, the fuller it gets, and when it reaches the top, KABOOM. Complete and utter autoimmune meltdown.

Probably a more accurate bucket image for my situation. 😉

In case you are wondering what I mean by this “autoimmune meltdown” here is a list of what goes down:

  • extreme cravings for whatever it was that last “corned” me – for some reason I want to eat all of it, like it is a drug or something.
  • mouth sores
  • chills/hot flashes – body is pretty much not regulating temperature at all
  • sweating constantly
  • uncontrollable shaking from head to toe
  • extreme muscle and joint pain – So bad that washing my own hands is excruciating. It feels like someone is putting out a cigarette on my back. It burnsAnd standing on my feet is really painful – almost like the bones are separating.
  • peripheral neuropathy – numbness in fingers and toes, burning sensation in feet, hands, and occasionally my face. It feels like my skin is gone, and even the slightest brushing of fabric against it is pure agony.
  • insomnia/fatigue. I want to lay in bed all day, and I can’t sleep for nothing at night. Waking up in the morning is the worst- it is actually painful.
  • weakness in arms and legs. Can barely dress myself, let alone pick up my son. Standing in the kitchen while trying to prepare foods is almost unbearable. Putting my hair up in a ponytail is more than I can handle. I just plain can’t do it.
  • migraines
  • TMJ pain
  • nausea
  • diarrhea
  • bloating/water retention, followed by a couple of days of peeing every 30 minutes like a pregnant woman.
  • puffy eyes and face
  • acne
  • zero appetite
  • blurry vision and extreme sensitivity to sunlight
  • Runny nose and watery eyes
  • sever depression/anxiety/suicidal thoughts. I hate to even admit this one, because my father committed suicide, and I know how severely damaging it is to everyone around you. I get it now. He had allergies also, and I suspect I inherited this lovely one from him. I get it. I couldn’t live like that either. (No worries, loved ones, I’m not going anywhere, I promise)
  • Light headedness/ dizziness/ blacking out upon standing, every single time I stand. Sometimes this is accompanied by uncontrolled twitching as I am going down.. I am convinced I am having mild seizures (will be asking about this with my new doctor)
  • Severe vitamin deficiencies resulting in almost translucent skin (you can see every vein in my body) heavy bruising from unknown causes from head to toe.
  • My nails start to separate from my nail beds. I tend to have bloody cuticles on almost every finger. I can’t put my hands in my pockets without splitting another cuticle.
  • Severe dry/scabbing scalp. It is actually painful.
  • You ready for this? Wild, uncontrollable anger at absolutely nothing. I cannot stop myself from “moaning” – think of an angry bull. That is the sound I make. I can’t control it. I just want to throw a fit. Apparently corn brings out the “meanies”

Thankfully, this doesn’t happen too often anymore, but it does catch me off guard once in a while. Like I said before, it is almost impossible to avoid corn, especially when eating out. My best bet is to prepare every single meal by hand, and even then I still have accidents. As tough as it sounds, I try to stay positive, and look on the bright side – I know what is wrong. It isn’t a mystery to me anymore. As long as I can forgive myself for slipping up, and constantly remind myself that it is ok to have accidents, then I am doing alright. And, you know? If it weren’t for all this craziness I would not have found my calling – to help others realize how their diet affects every part of their health, and that what they may be experiencing can be stemming directly from foods that they eat. I absolutely believe that everything happens for a reason, and I will always try to honor this notion as opposed to holding a grudge against my misfortunes. It’s better to make lemonade out of those lemons, right?

Do you have a food intolerance? What are your overflowing bucket symptoms? I would love to hear about your experience!

Disclaimer: I am not a doctor or a dietician – I am simply a person with gluten and corn intolerance, sharing my personal experiences. If you are experiencing any issues yourself, please consult doctors, and question everything. Listen to your own body, and it will tell you exactly what you can and cannot handle!

Leave a Reply

