The Corny Truth Series: Hidden Corn in Salt

So you just found out that you are corn intolerant, and you are trying to navigate your way around the very limited options available to you in the world of food stuffs. Don’t worry, you are not alone! There are actually quite a few of us out here that have gone through the exact same thing that you are right at this very moment, and we are here to help as much as we can, because really, we are your only hope. Unfortunately, there is not much information out there other than our first-hand experience.

It took me, and is still taking me, a very long time to figure out what I can and cannot have – and one of my first hard lessons learned was involving salt. Who knew that table salt can be corny? Not this lady. I was repeatedly getting ill after eating various things, and upon researching the bejeezus out of every ingredient I had put in my mouth for days, I found that the common denominator was salt. Then I found this blog, which explained everything.

Whaaaaaaaaaaaat? Are you kidding me? No wonder salt gets me every stinking time.

So, in case you didn’t care to click that link up there, this is what it says in a nutshell: If the salt is iodized then it is also coated in dextrose (corn derivative) to help the iodine stick to the salt. Both iodized and non-iodized salt can come in packaging that can be corny for a number of different reasons, rendering the salt itself corn-taminated. Or corn derived ingredients can be added to keep the salt from clumping. On top of that, salt can be manufactured in the same facility as a number of different ingredients, causing cross contamination.

She also states that there is not a single salt that some corn intolerant people have not reacted to… but I have found that regular old sea salt in a glass container, or some plastic containers, with ZERO additives works out just fine for us. Himalayan salt has also been very friendly to us. I even carry my own salt grinder in my purse with me everywhere I go in case I end up eating somewhere and have to order my plain jane, season-free food. But, that is me. You may react differently, so as always, exercise extreme caution when sampling any food stuffs on your own.

All this being said, of course you should check every single label of every single package of salt you purchase. Carry your own safe salt with you everywhere you go, because you never do know. If you eat out, tell the server that you are allergic to most salts and to leave it off of your food, and that you will salt it yourself. And, check every label of any pre-made food item to see if salt was added – if it is not specified as sea salt or himalayan salt, avoid it. Trust me. I get cocky and try to make myself believe that it will be ok for some packaged foods (cheese especially) only to be smacked down with horrible reactions. Stay. Away.

One Comment Add yours

Leave a Reply

