I Know, I Can Be Such A Cornhole

Ok, so that isn’t really a word…. I know “corn hole” is that game where you try to toss a  bean bag into a hole…..But, you know what? I’m claiming “cornhole”. I can be such a cornhole after being corned half to death – especially when I eat foods that I just knew were safe, but later found out that there was a hidden corn derivative lurking about that decided to rear it’s ugly head and inflame my every joint. That really makes me angry and brings about “The Great Cornholio”. (Ok, that one is from Beavis and Butthead.) 

What is crazy is that this is actually a legit thing. I am not the only one that experiences pure, uncontrollable rage after eating corny things – especially when it has built up in my system. One little slip-up here and there is not likely to cause this reaction, but when my “bucket” is full, and decides to tip, out come the meanies. The crazy part is – no one really seems to know why this happens, or at least I haven’t come across any studies focused on corn and anger.  But, it does. Irritability is one of the most common symptoms of corn intolerance – and actually was the reason why I chose to research it more for my son, before I even found out that either of us were allergic. Talk about moody! He would spend most of his day running about the house moaning and groaning and throwing fits over nothing. I know what you’re thinking – that is normal toddler behavior, but it was worse than the usual toddler fit. I knew that there was something bigger going on, and I was right.

This is actually a very accurate depiction of what my child really looks like during a corn meltdown. Yikes.

When this first started happening to me, I thought that I was crazy. I could not wrap my head around why I was so mad at every single little thing around me, I just was. At first I thought I had to just be PMSing really badly (which, btw, corn does not help me in this department either) but then realized that it was going on for way longer than the usual few days to a week, so then I thought “Am I pregnant?”. But…. then I was apparently not. I didn’t know what to think, other than “Leave me the eff alone, world!”.

It wasn’t until I detoxed it all out of my system that I realized that corn was the culprit all along. When I was finally on the other side of my 2 week long detox, I suddenly felt very peaceful. Not much could get under my skin. Like I had taken a nice little xanax (which I can no longer take because it is corny). But, I didn’t. It was just me. Pure, unmedicated, un-corned me. And then I slipped up and ate something that I had no idea was full of corn for a few days (mustard – has white vinegar in it…) and BAM. Watch out. I’m pretty sure I was throwing things and screaming like a banshee.

If you are misfortunate enough to find yourself in the midst of my corn-driven anger meltdown – my best advice to you is to walk away and hide. Seriously.  There is absolutely nothing that takes the anger away except for time. Usually, like half a day. And, trust me, I know how frustrating this is for my friends and family, because I also get to experience this lovely side effect with my 2 year old son – who suddenly becomes a HOLY FREAKING TERROR that will not sleep for a whole day after being exposed to corn in his diet. There is something different about this particular kind of anger. For some reason it brings about quite the backlash from anyone unfortunate enough to be in the vicinity, and seems to make everyone involved legitimately frustrated, angry, and rendered completely unable to cope. Corn seems to emit a forcefield of hatred – not a fun energy to deal with.

Interesting thought: what kind of impact does corn have on crime in our society? I’m not trying to say that we are all allergic to corn and every raging lunatic out there must have an issue with it  – but just something to ponder on. Could corn actually be making us crazy? It is in everything…..and let’s compare our crime rate here in the ol’ USA with most other non-GMO countries. Again, just a thought.

Do you, or a loved one, ever experience anything similar to this? I would absolutely love to hear your story, if so. It really feels awesome to know that you are not alone in the world!

Disclaimer: I am not a doctor, nor am I a scientist. I am simply a corn-intolerant person sharing my personal experience with my corn allergy in hopes to spread awareness about corn intolerance and to help others that are in the same boat. I hope that you find this information helpful!

Leave a Reply

