Eating Out with a Corn Allergy

Oh… how I miss eating out without a care in the world. It sure was lovely to be able to pick any restaurant I desired, and have the entire menu available to me. When my biggest decision was whether or not I wanted to carb it up or make a healthy choice. That was nice.

Now, it is a completely different story. Now, I am that person. You know, the one that has to change every single aspect of how the dish is supposed to be prepared. Not because I choose to. Because I have to, if I want to avoid an autoimmune meltdown.

I know this is terribly annoying, not only to the server that has to deal with me, but also to the chef or cook that created the dish. I know, because I used to be a server, and I worked with top-notch chefs that were incredibly irritated by the same exact kinds of requests that I now have to make. So, every time I go into a restaurant, I apologize profusely for what I am asking the server to tell the chef. I know the backlash that server is likely going to get when they walk into the kitchen with my order.

Luckily, I have been very fortunate with most restaurant outings that I have been a part of since my corn allergy realization. Many of the servers have been super helpful, and very attentive to my needs. I am ever so grateful. I feel like since I was in the service industry over 10 years ago, a lot more information about food allergies has come to light, and many more restaurants are very understanding and happy to accommodate. My best experience so far was at Ruth’s Chris – where they allowed me to bring my own butter to prepare my dish with. They were AWESOME. Too bad I can’t afford to go there all the time.

A typical order for me usually consists of a dry, unseasoned meat choice and steamed vegetables. Bland, blah, bland. Going to a restaurant is sooooo not exciting to me anymore… because I can make food taste a LOT better in my own kitchen. But, that means I have to cook all the time, and sometimes Mama just needs a break. So, what do I do? I bring things in my big bag of tricks to spruce things up a bit.

Items that may be found in my big ol’ purse:

  • various safe, homemade condiments
  • sea salt grinder
  • various seasonings and/or fresh herbs
  • tiny container of safe butter and/or oil
  • ” ” organic, grass-fed sour cream
  • organic, grass-fed home-shredded cheese
  • safe pickles/olives
  • organic, citric acid/ascorbic acid-free jams or preserves
  • homemade salad dressing
Here is a little example of some things that I brought along to a restaurant that will make unseasoned/un-marinated fajita for me. Sour cream, black olives, shredded grass-fed cheese, and a sea salt and roasted garlic grinder.
Here is a little example of some things that I brought along to a restaurant that will make unseasoned/un-marinated fajita for me. Sour cream, black olives, shredded grass-fed cheese, and a sea salt and roasted garlic grinder.

Bringing some of these things along with me has made all the difference in the world! Now I don’t have to practically choke down dry, tasteless food while being surrounded by people eating mouth-watering dishes that bring tears of envy to my eyes. Well, until it is time for dessert….. Then I am usually completely jealous and want to run away so as not to have to watch everyone eating all the things that I want but cannot touch. Maybe one day I will actually make my own sweet treats to throw in my bag. Do I have time for that? Probably not!

If you have issues with eating in restaurants because of corn or any other kind of food allergy, I strongly recommend pre-planning for your outing, and bringing along things that will make your meal complete. It really does make such a difference and will leave you way more satisfied.

Disclaimer: I must point out, that I am not as corn-sensitive as a lot of people suffering with corn allergies are. I have not noticed environmental sensitivities, and can handle eating some conventional veggies and meats – as long as they are not cross-contaminated and it is in moderation. Many corn sensitive people can not even be in the same room as a corn aroma, or eat anything that has been anywhere NEAR corn, and usually can not go out to a restaurant at all. This being said, listen to your body – it will tell you what you can handle and what you cannot. 🙂  Happy, safe eating to you all!

2 Comments Add yours

  1. Lyme Lens says:

    This was a GREAT post! Eating out for me has always been hell on a no dairy, no sugar, no gluten diet. I know what it feels like to open a menu and eliminate 85-95% of the items on there the minute you see it. Then you have to alter the 5-10% that you CAN choose! You gave some great ideas about packing your own condiments to spice up the dishes to personalize your meals. By doing this, you can enjoy yourself while having a nice dinner out without getting sick afterwards. Great job with the blog and adjusting to your new way of (eating) life!!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. uranatural says:

      Oh, yes. You know how it feels! At first, it is a complete nightmare…. But this certainly helps. Thank you so much! ❤️

      Like

Leave a Reply

