Namaste Gluten Free Pancakes 


Since this whole gluten and corn intolerance thing came raining down upon my little life, I have had a heck of a time finding flour blends that I can use to make things like pancakes. I have searched and scoured every store – online and brick-and-mortar, as well as send emails to multiple brands asking if their facilities and products are corn free, and came up with nothing safe, until I found Namaste Foods Perfect Flour Blend.

It was one of the best days. Ever. I am pretty sure I looked like a complete fool as I was dancing around the health food store isle with my little bag of flour in my hands like I just won a prize. It says right in the front – corn free. Holy molasses.

So, I had to make pancakes. And there wasn’t a recipe on the bag, so I came up with my own. (Apparently this brand also makes a pancake/waffle mix, but it was not at my local store)

Here is how I made them:

1 cup (128 grams) Namaste Foods Perfect Flour Blend

1 Tbsp organic cane sugar

1/4 tsp sea salt

1/4 tsp baking soda

1/4 tsp baking powder

1/4 tsp vanilla extract (homemade, corn free) OR scrape one vanilla bean – which is what I did

2 Tbsp oil (I used grape seed)

1 pasture-raised egg

1 cup milk or milk alternative

Mix dry ingredients together. Then add the rest of the wet ingredients and stir until smooth. Lightly grease preheated (medium high) pan or griddle with oil, and then spoon pancake mixture onto hot pan. Once you see the edges drying and bubbles forming in the middle of each pancake, flip and cook the other sides.

These are super quick and easy to throw together, and topped with maple syrup or strawberry preserves they always please my picky little toddler!

Disclaimer: I have since figured out that Namaste Foods brand flours are actually NOT corn free. Sad face! Apparently they didn’t realize that the xanthin gum used in their products is actually derived from corn.. and does cause reactions. Which explains why I have not felt well after eating things made with their products. I wanted to believe so very badly that they were safe, but, they are not. So sorry for the misleading information!

On that note, this recipe can be easily modified using safe flour instead of the Namaste brand. I will be exploring new flour options and will soon post new recipes!

Leave a Reply

