Chilled, Vegan Cucumber Dill Soup

IMG_1276

About 12 years ago I worked as a server in this wonderful, locally-owned, fine dining restaurant called Pastiche. I loved pretty much every single thing that they made there and would regularly become “hooked” on certain dishes for lengths of time. This particular dish was one of them.

More than half of the seating in this quaint little restaurant was located outside in the garden. In Florida. They did a decent job of keeping it cool out there using misters and fans. But, it doesn’t matter how many misters and fans you put outside, if you are running around serving tables you are HOT.

Our wonderful chef Eric was very wise, and he would often have chilled soups on the menu during the summer to help cool off the little, old “lunch ladies” (as we lovingly called them). His chilled Cucumber Dill Soup was my absolute favorite, and would eat it every single day that it was on the menu. Usually with some warm, crusty slices of french baguette with whipped sweet cream butter spread on top. Oh man… I miss bread. ugh.

Anywho.

Even after all these years, I still remember exactly how Chef Eric’s Cucumber Dill Soup tastes, and i crave it when it is hot outside.

Although I am not technically a Vegan, I tend to prepare a lot of my vegetable dishes and baked goods in the Vegan fashion – meaning I do not use dairy or eggs. This isn’t because of any beliefs against eating these things, they simply do not agree with me. I am pretty sure that the version I used to eat contained dairy of sorts – i would guess yogurt, but it could have been cream. Not sure. But I can’t have any of that, so after looking around on the web and getting some more inspiration for Vegan preparations, I did some experimenting and came up with my own version that I find a very satisfying knock-off. Hooray!

INGREDIENTS

  • 1 large cucumber, peeled and roughly chopped
  • 1 large zucchini, peeled and roughly chopped
  • 1 avocado, as you would assume – just the green stuff. 🙂
  • juice of 1 lemon
  • about 1/4 cup white wine vinegar
  • 1/2 cup cold, filtered water
  • 1/4 tsp sea salt
  • 1 tsp. fresh dill

DIRECTIONS

Throw all of that into a food processor, and process away until smooth. You will probably have to scrape down the sides a couple of times.

Give it a taste test and adjust the salt/vinegar/dill to your taste. I find I always tend to add a bit more of something. Or everything.

Pour it in a pretty little bowl, and enjoy!  This makes about 4+ servings.

Do you have a favorite chilled soup recipe for hot summer days?

I hope that you enjoyed this post, and try the recipe for yourself!

Please click the links to follow me on Social Media, and add your name to my email list to follow blog.

Leave a Reply

