Whipping up some egg-free, cashew mayo.

    

I love mayonnaise. I always have. It was a very sad day when I realized that even my homemade mayo was not my friend. For some reason eggs have recently started making my joints ache, and give me searing TMJ pain for two days. 

So, yeah. I had to come up with a solution. 

After failing miserably (quite a few times) following various “vegan mayo” recipes around the web (what is up with all the vinegar, people?), and wasting A LOT of money on cashews, I think I got it figured out.

 I like it, anyway, and hopefully you will, too. 

  
This is what you need:

1 cup raw, unsalted cashews, soaked for at least 3 hours. (I suggest longer, as the cashews become softer for a smoother texture) 

Juice of 1/2 to 1 lemon (start with half, add more per your taste)

1 tsp raw apple cider vinegar

1/4 tsp sea salt

1/4 tsp mustard powder
3/4 – 1 cup extra light tasting olive oil
Drain, rinse and dry your soaked cashews. Throw them in your food processor, along with everything else but the olive oil.

Process away, scrape down the edges a couple of times, then slowly pour the olive oil as the mixture blends. This takes a while. Have patience!

Once you have finished adding the 3/4 cup of oil, give it a taste test then adjust the flavor and consistency to your liking.

Store it in the fridge in pretty little glass container. 

  
I would love to tell you exactly how long this will keep, but it finds its way into a lot of recipes in this house before it goes bad… I would say about a week.

Hope that you enjoy, and let me know what tweaks you make as you experiment with your mayo!

Please follow me on social media by clicking the links below. 

Leave a Reply

